哥打京那巴鲁一日游

身在美丽的海湾,沐浴着阳光,对于当地人来说,沙巴州的首府哥打京那巴鲁是购物、美食和旅行的天堂。今天,我和朋友杰夫骑单车环游沙巴,到一个小镇给他的自行车换链子。

早上第一件事:我们骑车到城市华丽的海湾拍照,在加雅岛和邦咯岛拍出的照片格外美丽。早市开始,码头上格外热闹,各种商品应有尽有:儿童服饰、鱼、成袋子鲜绿色的柠檬。成堆的排放整齐的黄色芒果、成箱的亮红色红毛丹果和世界上最好的水果和深紫色的山竹果,当你经过码头的时候,这些散发着果香、多汁、价格便宜的水果似乎在向你致意。

到处都有早点供应。马来西亚自助餐包含:炒面、煎蛋、小热狗和炸鸡块。街边小贩卖有三明治和糯米饭。中国餐馆有传统的中国食物,如米粥和油条。婆罗洲有很多中国人,以致于你在那能边喝豆浆边看中国报纸。吃着我最爱吃的早餐,面包搭配咖喱酱和鸡蛋吃,喝着柠檬茶,我考虑着要在这儿隐居。

今天早上出来是有事办的,我要给妻子和孩子买礼物。我妻子喜欢香料,所以我们在大巴刹停下,来到市场,停下来就闻到小茴香、丁香、蒜、柠檬、腌虾、猪肉、葱和香菜发出的各种味道。这里色彩缤纷,青色的香蕉和莱檬、深紫色的茄子、黄色的香瓜、橙子和红宝石色的火龙果,在这里你会成为一位明星摄影师。

下一站:纺织市场。这里的商店出售全亚洲的各种服饰,印尼蜡染布,印度的莎丽服等应有尽有。你可以用英语、印尼语、中国普通话或客家语讨价还价。婆罗洲是亚洲的第一个共和国,1777年成立,名为兰芳共和国。我和一个女孩讨价,从她那儿买 了一卷印花布料。

这一天和平常一样放松,只是我得买东西。我们自行车旅行时拍的照片,已经存满我8G的内存卡,因此,我们停下买了一张新的内存卡,然后去麦当劳喝咖啡,这里也有星巴克和肯德基。回到旅馆,花了250新台币(26元人民币)请一个人帮我们清理床铺和浴室,把杰夫的自行车拖去附近的一个自行车行,店长是一个中国人,它工作的时候我们用普通话和英文与他交谈,和沙巴人一样好客、助人为乐,他免费为我们服务。我们在自助餐店吃了午饭,有炸鸡、咖喱肉饭、咖喱土豆、水虾和蔬菜,当然还有面包。我梦想在此隐居。

哥打京那巴鲁的自助餐 。。摄影: 迈克尔•特顿

午饭后,我们去了加雅街市场,那里有很多游客、背包客和做生意的当地人。这里是买纪念品的好地方。

加雅街市场的杰夫。摄影:迈克尔•特顿

经过一天的购物和美食,我们有些疲惫,需要休息。我和杰夫在一个舒适的酒吧看书、喝酒放松,酒吧服务员免费送了一瓶啤酒。比起吃烤鸡,回去似乎是一个好主意。

夕阳西下的渔船。摄影:迈克尔•特顿

夜晚来临了!我们回到海湾看日落。走进海湾,我们面临着艰难选择:是在菲律宾夜市吃串烧海鲜和水果,还是去有各种餐馆和酒吧的海鲜村,吃各种当地菜和西餐。我们选择了前者,吃了串烧鱿鱼、和如人手臂一样长的烤虎头虾,后来我们喝了啤酒,望向海湾,看到一对对手挽手走过的情侣和拿着相机虔诚地拍摄夕阳的游客。我看到橘色的太阳映在紫色的天空,心里想:对,我要在这儿隐居。

菲律宾夜市烤虎头虾。摄影:迈克尔•特顿

添加一条评论

你的电子邮件不会被公开或用作其他用途。 标记*的项为必填项。

你可以使用以下HTML标签和属性。 <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

Twenty-four hours in Kota Kinabalu

Perched on a beautiful bay and caressed by the sun, Sabah’s capital Kota Kinabalu, KK town to the locals, is a great place for shopping, eating, and exploring. Today my friend Jeff and I, cycling around Sabah, have come into town to get a new chain for his bike.

First thing in the morning we head down to the water to take pictures of the city’s gorgeous bay, where the islands of Pulau Gaya and Pulau Sepangar make a lovely frame for romantic photographs. The wharf comes alive with a morning market, vendors selling everything from children’s clothing to live fish and bags of bright green lemons. Piles of neatly stacked yellow mangos and boxes of bright red rambutans and earth’s best fruit, dark purple mangosteens, fragrant, juicy, and cheap, greet you as you wind your way north along the pier.

Breakfast is everywhere. Buffets host Malaysian-style fried noodles, stacks of fried eggs, miniature hot dogs, and chicken nuggets. Roadside vendors sell sandwiches and sticky rice treats. Chinese restaurants serve up traditional Chinese foods like rice porridge and you tiao (油條). With so many Chinese in Borneo there’s even a Chinese newspaper to read as you sip your soybean milk. Eating my favorite breakfast, roti stuffed with egg served with a dip of curry sauce and hot lemon tea, I think about retiring here.

This morning I’m on a mission: finding gifts for the wife and kids. My wife likes spices, so we stop by the Pasar Besar, the enormous market building by the bay. As you enter you pass vendors selling schoolbooks and newspapers. Stop and savor the aroma of cumin, cloves, garlic, lemons, pickled shrimp, pork, shallots, and cilantro. Machines whir as they carve raw coconut meat from coconut husks. The riot of colors — green bananas and limes, dark purple eggplants and avocados, yellow melons, oranges, and ruby-hued dragonfruits – are guaranteed to make you a star photographer. Upstairs in the food court people smile and children run over demanding you take their picture. I buy a bag of coriander seeds from a spice vendor and fantasize about retiring to KK town.

Next stop: the Ruang Tiong Hua Street area, the textile market. Here the shops offer cloth from all over Asia, from Indonesian batiks to Indian saris. You can haggle in English, Bahasa, Mandarin, or Hakka – Borneo was the site of Asia’s first Republic, the Hakka-run Lanfang Republic of 1777. I share a joke with one girl and she sells me a bolt of cloth in a striking flowery print. A nearby eatery fills the air with the smell of fresh roti, and I wonder about retiring to Kota Kinabalu.

Like any day of relaxation, mine includes errands. My 8 GB card is filled with pictures from our cycling trip through Brunei and Sarawak, so we stop for a new card and then at McDonald’s for coffee – there’s a Starbucks and KFC here also. Back at our budget hotel, NT$250 (RM 26) a person for clean beds and an attached bath, we grab Jeff’s bicycle and head for a nearby bike shop. The owner is Chinese and we chat in Mandarin and English as he works. Friendly and helpful like everyone in Sabah, he charges nothing for labor. We have lunch at a buffet place offering fried chicken, meat curries, curried potatoes, steamed shrimp, an array of greens and of course, roti. I dream of a retirement filled with roti.

Buffet in Kota Kinabalu. Pic: Michael Turton.

After lunch, we wander off to the Gaya Market on Jalan Gaya, crowded with tourists, backpackers, and locals looking for a deal. It’s a great place to buy souvenirs.

Jeff in Gaya Market. Pic: Michael Turton.

After a strenuous day of shopping and eating, a rest is called for. Jeff and I find a cozy bar to relax in with books and beer – the bartender gives us an extra one free. Between bites of barbecued chicken, retiring to KK town seems a great idea.

Fishing boats at sunset. Pic: Michael Turton.

Evening! Jeff and I head back to the water to enjoy the sunset. Approaching the bay, we face a tough choice: the Filipino night market for barbecued seafood and fruit, or the Portview Seafood village, a long wooden deck lined with restaurants and bars selling local and western dishes? We opt for the former and feast on squid, fish, and grilled tiger prawns as long as a man’s arm. Later we sip beers and look out over the bay. Couples walk past arm in arm and tourists raise their cameras at the sunset, as if in worship. I look to where the sun flares orange in a purple sky, and think, yep, I’m retiring here.

Prawns and grilled fish in the Filipino night market. Pic: Michael Turton.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*