古基殖民地遗产

沙捞越省会古基城,位于马来西亚婆罗洲岛,是人口最为密集的城市。这个城市不仅美丽干净、景致迷人,还有着传奇的历史。

由于马来语单词猫与古基这个名字很像,所以古基有“猫城”之称。古基市内有几个以猫为主题的雕像和博物馆,常常给人们以猫的联想。

如今的古基,依然有着马来西亚多元文化的历史特性,传统上的种族邻居小印度、唐人街及常见的马来房屋和殖民时代的建筑。步行旅游的好处是可以体验市中心非比寻常的步行街,参观各种遗产遗址。如果你像我一样,喜欢步行探险,那么,你就会珍视这些特色。

下面是古基殖民时代的一些遗产建筑。

会督府(The Bishop’s House ——古基英国国教的私人住宅,一般不对外开放。这个殖民地珍宝以古典白墙、与都铎王朝英格兰相关的木制品为特色。主教的房于1849年建成,被认为是沙捞越最古老的欧式住宅。更多信息在here)。

阿斯塔纳(The Astana——沙捞越政府官员官邸。阿斯塔纳或者“伊斯坦纳”意指宫殿,被第二个怀特氏首领布洛克于1870年创建,是其送给新娘玛格丽特·莉莉·爱丽丝··温特的礼物。尽管阿斯坦纳本身不对外开放,但人们可以乘船通过沙捞越河进入它的花园。阿斯塔纳由三幢建筑物构成,四方塔、长长的斜面屋顶,使之看起来就像一个四方城堡。

阿斯塔纳。摄影: jinym1st (照片副本分享)。

古基法院(Kuching Courthouse )——由布洛克于1883年在海滨建立,是政府机关所在地和举办典礼的地方。法院内设古希腊石柱,木制人行道、大斜面屋顶和巴洛克钟楼,是一幢殖民风格的拼凑建筑。如今,这里就是法院大楼的所在地。

玛格丽特城堡(Fort Margherita )——第二个怀特氏首领于1879年建立,用来保护古基,使其免遭沙捞越河海盗的袭击。这个城堡与英国的城堡很像。位于阿斯塔纳附近的玛格丽特城堡现在是一个旅游胜地。

玛格丽特城堡。摄影:艾尔伦•保罗(维基共享资源)。

圆塔(Round Tower )——圆形的塔、白色的墙,使之看起来就像一个要塞,但事实上在一场大火之后,这里开始被当作城市的药方来用 。圆塔于1886年创建,作为沙捞越工艺品中心,每天上午九点至下午六点免费开放。

沙捞越博物馆(Sarawak State Museum )——1888年,在天体运动者阿尔弗雷德华莱士的命令下由布洛克赞助创建,这是婆罗洲最古老的博物馆。该博物馆museum)的特色为安妮女王风格的建筑、种族展览房屋和记录沙捞越自然历史的文件。

展馆大楼(Pavilion Building——这个三层建筑珍宝位于老法院综合设施内部,里面还有沙捞越纺织博物馆Sarawak Textiles Museum),很好的展现了当地民族服饰和沙捞越纺织加工信息。该建筑物于1909年作为一所医药中心而建,同时混合了英国殖民地及文艺复兴时期的风格。

展馆大楼和圆塔。摄影: 雷切尔•李(照片副本分享)。

圣约瑟夫男子学校(1894)和圣托马斯男子学校(1886)(St. Joseph’s Boys School (1894) and St. Thomas’s Boys School (1886))——两所宗教学校,第一所是天主教,第二所是英国国教,文件记载,沙捞越传教历史开始于1848年。

古基邮政总局大楼(Kuching General Post Office Building——近期的殖民建筑。这个壮丽的新式经典建筑可追溯到1931年,以柯林斯石柱为特色,外面有许多拱形开口,中间有个飞檐。邮局位于纺织博物馆(展馆大楼)对面。

大伯公庙(Tua Pek Kong Temple——市内最古老的寺庙之一。这个精心制作的中国建筑位于古基历史中心的中部出版社右边,可以追溯至1843年。

历史博物馆(Chinese History Museum——经典的殖民风格建筑,于1912年创建。根据布洛克,这是中华总商会,展现了沙捞越中国不同社区的历史。除周五外,每天上午9点至下午6点免费开放。

添加一条评论

你的电子邮件不会被公开或用作其他用途。 标记*的项为必填项。

你可以使用以下HTML标签和属性。 <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

Kuching’s colonial heritage

Kuching – Explore the narrow streets filled with Chinese shophouses, the Astana and Fort Margherita in Sarawak’s most beguiling city.

The most populous city and capital of the Malaysian state of Sarawak on the island of Borneo, Kuching is a beautiful and clean city with an intriguing history and a captivating character.

Known as “Cat City” due to the similarity of the city’s name with the Malay word for cat (kucing), Kuching residents have embraced their home’s feline association, with several cat themed sculptures and even a cat museum.

Malaysia’s historical multicultural character is alive and well in Kuching, with the traditionally ethnic neighbourhoods of Little India and Chinatown as well as customary Malay houses and colonial-era architecture. One bonus is that the city centre is unusually pedestrian friendly and many sites can be covered on walking tours. If you’re like me and enjoy exploring on foot, you will appreciate this feature.

Here is a list of some of the colonial-era heritage buildings Kuching has to offer.

The Bishop’s House – The private residence of the Anglican Bishop of Kuching, and therefore not a building generally open to the public, this colonial gem features the classic white walls and exposed woodwork associated with Tudor England. Completed in 1849, the Bishops House is thought to be the oldest European-style dwelling in Sarawak. Read more here.

The Astana – The official residence of the governor of Sarawak, the Astana or “istana”, meaning palace, was built in 1870 by Charles Brooke, the second White Raja, as a gift to his bride Margaret Lili Alice de Windt. Though the building itself is not generally open to the public, its gardens are accessible via a boat ride across the Sarawak River. The Astana is made up of three buildings and resembles a castle with its square towers and long sloping roofs.

Astana. Pic: jinym1st (Flickr CC).

Kuching Courthouse – Built by Charles Brooke in 1883 on the waterfront to house government offices and ceremonies, the courthouse incorporates Ancient Greek columns, wooden walkways, large sloping roofs and a baroque clock tower into a pastiche of colonial styles. It is now home to the Sarawak Tourism Complex.

Fort Margherita – Also built by the second Raja in 1879 to protect Kuching from pirate attacks from the Sarawak River, the fort resembles an English castle. Located near the Astana, Fort Margherita is now a tourist attraction.

Форт Маргерита. Рис: Aron Paul (Wikimedia Commons).

Round Tower – Resembling a fortress with its round turrets and white walls, but in fact used as a town dispensary after a fire ravaged the area, the Round Tower was constructed in 1886. It is home to the Sarawak Handicraft Centre and is open daily 9am-6pm with free admission.

Sarawak State Museum – Established in 1888 and sponsored by Charles Brooke at the behest of naturist Alfred Wallace, this is the oldest museum in Borneo. The museum features a Queen Anne style of architecture and houses ethnographic exhibits and items documenting the natural history of Sarawak.

Pavilion Building – this three story architectural gem is located within the Old Courthouse complex and houses the Sarawak Textiles Museum, which showcases local ethnic costumes and information about Sarawak’s textile process. The building was constructed as a medical centre in 1909 in a mix of English Colonial and Renaissance styles.

Pavilion Building and Round Tower. Pic: Rachel Lee (Flickr CC).

St. Joseph’s Boys School (1894) and St. Thomas’s Boys School (1886) – A pair of religious schools, the first Catholic and the second Anglican, document the missionary history of Sarawak, which began in 1848.

Kuching General Post Office Building – The most recent example of colonial architecture, this imposing Neo-Classical structure dates from 1931 and features Corinthian columns, a facade composed of many arched openings and a central cornice. The Post Office stands opposite the Textile Museum (Pavilion Building).

Tua Pek Kong Temple – One of the city’s oldest temples, this elaborate Chinese structure dates from 1843 and is located right smack dab in the middle of Kuching’s historic centre.

Chinese History Museum – Built in classical-colonial style in 1912 as the Chinese Chamber of Commerce on the instructions of Charles Brooke, this museum showcases the history of the different Chinese communities in Sarawak. Admission is free and opening hours are 9am-6pm (closed Fridays).

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*