4 пещеры Малайзии

В Малайзии множество известковых пещер, как на основном полуострове, так и на Борнео. Большинство из них было изучено в последнем столетии, и некоторые были приспособлены для индуистских и буддистских святилищ. Популярные пещеры, не имеющие культурного налета, знамениты своими огромными размерами. В национальных парках есть сильно разветвленные пещеры, в которые проводятся экскурсии. Иногда можно заказать спелеологическое приключение из ближайшего города.

Спелеология в Малайзии – молодое направление, но это и привлекает. Экскурсии хорошо спланированы, но иногда возникает ощущение, что вы часть геологоразведческой  группы.

Вот несколько самых знаменитых пещер в Малайзии

Пещеры Бату

Всего в 7 километрах от Куала-Лумпур находятся самые удобно расположенные пещеры в Малайзии. Они образовывают систему – три пещеры побольше и несколько маленьких – и населены обезьянами. У местных торговцев можно купить орехи и бананы, но имейте в виду, эти приматы – большие мошенники, за ними не заржавеет стащить ваш кошелек или сумочку, чтобы посмотреть, что вы с этим будете делать.

The entrance to Batu Caves.

Вход в пещеру Бату Pic: Redtigerxyz, Wikimedia Commons.

Пещеры соседствуют со священным индуистскими гротами, святилищами и храмами. В начале каждого года сотни тысяч индуистов собирается в пещерах для проведения праздника Тайпусм. Праздник приходится на десятый месяц индийского лунного календаря и обычно проходит в конце января, с плавающей точной датой.

Если вам посчастливится оказаться в Куала-Лумпур во время проведения фестиваля, присоединяйтесь к процессии у храма Шри-Мариамман в центре города. Преданные увешаны грузами (обычно украшенные символикой яркие кувшины), закрепленными на их телах.

Перак-Тонг

Другая священная пещера, Перак-Тонг, привлекает скорее китайских буддистов, чем индуистов. Вообще-то вокруг Ипоха расположено 30 пещер, но эта – самая знаменитая. Буддистский священнослужитель, Чонг Сен Йи, способствовал основанию этого места в 1920-ые годы, участвуя в росписи стен (рисунки и каллиграфия).

A mural on the walls of Perak Cave, Malaysia.

Рисунок на стене пещеры Перак, Малайзия. Рис: Redtigerxyz, Wikimedia Commons.

Это сложная система известковых пещер. Святилища и алтари, которые можно тут увидеть, отражают эклектичное влияние школ буддизма: махаяны и тхеревады. Последняя вышла из верований буддистов, прибывших на полуостров несколько веков назад, тогда как первая создана китайскими купцами и рабочими, в годы зенита колониальной британской империи.

Зайдя в главную пещеру, вы увидите лестничный пролет за центральным алтарем. Он ведет вглубь пещеры и, в конце концов, выводит вас к выходу на обратной стороне горы. Идите дальше и придете в павильон, откуда открывается вид на Ипох и окрестности. В целом, чтобы добраться до этого старинного места, понадобится преодолеть 450 ступеней.

Оленья пещера

Покинув гроты Полуостровной Малайзии, направляйтесь на Борнео, за более острыми впечатлениями. Рядом с Мири в штате Саравак находится глубочайшая Оленья пещера, впервые описанная в 1960-ые. В путеводителях любят подчеркивать, что основной зал достаточно велик, чтобы вместить собор Петра и Павла в Лондоне – на самом деле, – пять таких соборов. Можно не говорить, что путешествие внутрь требует большого смирения.

Оленья пещера – главная достопримечательность заповедника Гунунг Мулу- внесена в Список мирового наследия ЮНЕСКО. Это Борнео, неиспорченная красота. Чтобы отправиться в пещеру, нужно присоединиться к экскурсии в офисе парка, в начале второй половины дня, экскурсия начинается с двухкилометровой прогулки по лесу.  Самостоятельные посещения пещеры запрещены, в рамках охраны первозданных лесных угодий.

Находясь в парке, не забудьте посетить также Гуа Насиб Багус (пещеру Удачи). Она известна  самым большимв мире подземным залом.

Пещера Гомантонг

Еще одной достопримечательностью Борнео является пещера Гомантонг, расположенная в штате Сабах, в тропическом лесу. Ближайший крупный город – Сандакан, путь до пещеры занимает два часа в одну сторону. Учитывая это, придется посвятить этой поездке целый день.

Gomantong Cave, Malaysia

Пещера Гомантонг, Малайзия Рис: Redtigerxyz, Wikimedia Commons.

Пещера Гомантонг знаменита своей колонией стрижей, которых используют для приготовления деликатесного дорогого «супа из ласточкиного гнезда». Подходящее время для посещения – конец марта или начало сентября. Вы сможет увидеть людей на лесах, собирающих гнезда со стен пещеры. Страсть к супу из ласточкиного гнезда – одна из самых неубиваемых в Китае. Гнезда собираются до откладывания яиц, и родителям приходится строить еще одно.

Особо удачливые смогут встретить тут орангутанга.

Оставить комментарий

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

4 Malaysian caving adventures

Malaysia is blessed with an extensive network of limestone caves, both on the main peninsula and in Borneo. Most were first surveyed in the last century, and some have been developed into important religious shrines for Hindus and Buddhists in Malaysia. The popular caverns that don’t have a cultural angle are famous for their sheer size. The more rugged caves are located in national parks and can be explored on guided tours. In some cases, you can book spelunking adventures from the nearest cities.

Malaysia’s ‘caving adventure’ scene is still in its infancy, but that’s a major part of the attraction. Tours are well-planned, but there are moments in which you’ll feel like you’re part the charter group of explorers.

These are some of the best-known caves in Malaysia:

Batu Caves
Only seven miles north of Kuala Lumpur, Batu Caves are Malaysia’s most accessible. They are part of a network – three larger caverns and a few smaller ones – and they host a troupe of monkeys. You can buy peanuts and bananas from local vendors, but be warned. These primates are con artists, and they’re not above snatching your purse or satchel to see if you’re holding out.

The entrance to Batu Caves.

The entrance to Batu Caves. Pic: Redtigerxyz, Wikimedia Commons.

The caves double as a sacred Hindu grotto, with shrines and temples on site. Early every year, hundreds of thousands of Hindus flock to the caves for the Thaipusm festival. The festival falls on the tenth month of the Hindu lunar calendar and usually takes place in late January, though the actual dates vary.

If you’re lucky enough to be in KL for the festival, you can join the processional at Sri Mariamman Temple in the city center. Devotees carry burdens (usually a symbolic, brightly colored jug) that are connected to their bodies by hooked piercings.

Perak Tong
Another sacred cave, Perak Tong attracts Chinese Buddhists rather than Hindus. There are actually 30 caves located in the area around Ipoh, but this is the most famous. Buddhist priest Chong Sen Yee started the development here in the 1920s and contributed some of the murals and calligraphy on the walls.

A mural on the walls of Perak Cave, Malaysia.

A mural on the walls of Perak Cave, Malaysia. Pic: Hannah 50, Wikimedia Commons.

This is a complex network of limestone caverns. Shrines and altars abound, reflecting an eclectic fusion of Mahayana and Theravada Buddhist influence. The latter is borne out of the Buddhist beliefs that arrived on the peninsula several centuries ago, while the former arrived with Chinese merchants and laborers during the British colonial era.

Enter the main cavern and you’ll find a flight of stairs behind the central altar. This winds deeper into the cavern and ultimately delivers you to an opening on the opposite hillside. Continue on and you’ll reach a pavilion overlooking Ipoh and environs. In all, something like 450 stairs will deliver your to this vantage point.

Deer Cave
Leave the grottos of Peninsula Malaysia and head to Borneo for something a bit more rugged and raw. Just outside of Miri in Sarawak, Deer Cave is a gaping cavern that was first surveyed in the 1960s. Tour guides like to point out that the main chamber is big enough to accommodate London’s St Paul’s Cathedral – five of them, actually. Needless to say, the journey inside is a scaled-up exercise in humility.

Deer Cave is the star attraction of Gunung Mulu National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This is Borneo at its unspoiled finest. To visit the caves, join a tour group at the park’s headquarters in the early afternoon before setting out on a two-mile trek on a gangway through the forest. Tourists aren’t allowed to visit by themselves, but this is part of what preserves the forest’s rugged edge.

While you’re in park, consider stopping by Gua Nasib Bagus (Good Luck Cave) as well. It houses the largest known underground chamber in the world.

Gomantong Cave

Another Borneo attraction, Gomantong Cave lies in the Malaysian state of Sabah in a rainforest reserve. The closest major city is Sandakan, and getting here requires two hours’ transport, one way. With that in mind, a proper visit takes the whole day.

Gomantong Cave, Malaysia

Gomantong Cave, Malaysia: Pic: Laura, Wikimedia Commons.

Gomantong Cave is famous for its colony of swifts, which fuel the highly lucrative bird’s nest soup industry. Time your visit just right (late March or early September), and you’ll see men scaling 300-foot scaffolding to collect nests from the cave walls. The bird’s nest soup craze is one of China’s more sustainable culinary pursuits. Nests are collected before any eggs are laid, and the parents just end up building another one.

The luckiest visitors may spot an orangutan in the area.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*